Vespa PX 24 teeth clutch gear - No whine

Hello,

First of all, sincere apologies If some of the things I write are not clear, I am new to classic Vespa world and do not really understand most terms, and it is quite overwhelming to try to figure it out.

I have a Vespa PX 125 ZAP M74100 with a Polini 177.

I asked the dealer to modify the gearing as it was too short after the kit conversion. He changed the pinion clutch gear for a 22 teeth model, but I now have a whine from the transmission due to the pinion having straight teeth. As far as I know, nothing important was changed except for the clutch pinion. 

Apart from the noise which I can live with, even though I would prefer without it, I would like to confirm that this was the correct part to use.

Is there another clutch pinion gear we could have used with helical teeth instead ? Would I need to get a combo of clutch pinion gear and corresponding primary gear instead ? I see a lot of references about the COSA 2 clutch....does my bike have this as stock ? 

Thank you for your help [:)]

Hey Werner,

Thank you for your reply, much appreciated !

As far as I know, the dealer only changed the clutch pinion gear for a 22 teeth one, but did not change the primary. There is only one part referenced on the invoice. Are the gears that came on the scooter originally straight or helical ? My understanding is that they mixed a straight 22 teeth clutch pinion with whatever was on the scooter stock and this caused the whine.