Uprating PK125 on the cheap

I’ve just started running a 1983 PK125 and would like to get a bit more speed out of it (use it to commute part dual carriageway/part busy city traffic).

Problem is I can’t justify spending too much in one go, so I’m after advice on best way to go. Eventually I hope to fit a 135 kit (is Malossi best?) but I assume I’m best to start by uprating the exhaust and carb.

If I fit a Polini or Simonini exhaust should I upjet the carb? These exhausts are available in left or right hand. What’s the difference? (other than the side they come out, obviously)

When I get to fit a kit do I need to uprate other components like the crank? I presume some adjustment in gearing is preferable.

Recommended carb for use with 135 kit?

I am completely new to Vespas but run and Lammy so I am not a complete spanner with a spanner.

Any tips gratefully received.

Thanks Curare.

Main reason I want to change the exhaust first is that the standard one sound horrible[:’(]

hello,

if you are not after extreme tuning, I can’t see a better kit then the Polini 130 (normal intake. There is one with double intake that is more difficult to carb and the small improvement over the standard version doesn’t justify the effort.)

You can use it with your crank, with a Simonini exhaust, or with a Sito (Sigar style or banana, I don’t know its actual name). The Sito is not a real expansion, but works well with the Polini for a city - touring engine.
For the carb, if you are not going to do any modification to your cases and to your crank, you can use 19 or 21.

Has far as the step to get where you want, I thing it is alwasy better to start from the kit, expecially if you are not thinking about doing some cases work.
Then get the carb and then the exhaust.

If you were thinking about bigger improvement then you have to do much more work and spend more money.