Pk rotary valve (for Curare)

Hi guys,
this is my first time on your forum and I wish to thank everyone who can help me. Curare’s advice would be very much appreciated. I’m tuning a Pk125s with a Pinasco 121 kit or a Polini 130 kit. I don’t want to change the crankshaft or to cut it so I thought about modifying the intake port but I found out that I have only 3 mm to work on. So the question is: is it possible to enlarge the intake for 1-1,5 mm on each side ensuring a correct functioning?
I apologize for my English but I’m Italian mother tongue.

hello aplus,

yes don’t worry, we understood there was a confusion, but well done to correct yourself since it can happen that somebody read it and take it for good.

I would like to add:
It happened to me more then once that with a PK125S case (engine serial number indicating this model) I have got the 24/25 cranckshaft you normally have with XL and ETS.
So guys be careful with PK and before ordering the crank check not only the model of PK but check the crank you want to replace or the case where it sits.

hello aplus and welcome,

first of all tank you for the consideration you have given me, but here in this forum there are other people of very good knowledge and contrary to other forum when somebody is not sure of something is the first to say, so you would not risk your engine.
So in the future you could ask without specially addressing it to me.

For your question:

you can enlarge the inlet port but be very very careful. Not more then 1mm each side or you have to mount a reed block after since the compression plate will not be able to work properly.
And then you could make it longer to alter the timing. Maybe 2mm in the front position and 2mm in the back if you are using the pinasco, (Pinasco is more or less an improved original cylinder so if you don’t alter its porting you can’t go much further since it will be useless) 2m front - 5mm back if you choose to go for the polini.