Need a bit help

Hi,

I’ve been riding a PX for a few years now, but I have never really gotten into working on it myself.
I recently replaced my (stolen) PX125 with an Italian import Px200.
It wasn’t in excellent shape, but it was cheap. I’ve had it serviced, and I had the crusiform replaced (I knew that was worn when I bought it). But it’s still not right. I’ve got a „flat spot“. When I rev it (mainly in 2nd and 3rd), I accelerate, at some point it feels like the engine doesn’t want to go for a couple of seconds, then it picks up again and accelerates fine. I’m tired now of spending loads of money with poor mechanics not sorting it out properly, so I’ve decided I’m going try to give it some attention myself.
I thought maybe the cause of this would be a dirty carb or blocked jet. It only had a service a couple of 100km ago, but I’ve only put a few tanks of petrol in, and maybe I’m thinking there was still some dirty fuel in the tank (the scooter hadn’t been ridden for a while).
Do you think that’s a fair assumption?
So I’m thinking of trying to rebuild the carb myself. I’ve never done anything like that, but I’ve found this guide online: Vespa P Series Maintenance & Repair

So 3 questions:

• Do you think it is a fair assesment and rebuilding the carb might fix the issue?
  • Do people think I should be able to do this without any previous experience?
  • I’m strugling to find which parts I need to order from SIP. I take I should replace all gaskets and the fuel filter while I’m at it. Can anybody point me to the things I need to order?

Many thanks in advance. I really want to get the scooter tip top for the Isle of Wight ralley, so a beer to everybody who helps me out! [;)]

dries.

Thanks Leif!
That sounds good. I’m not working next week, so I think I’ll pick a quite afternoon to do it and take my time [:)]

Thanks for the tip about the air mixture screw.

Ordering the parts now …

Are you going to the IoW? If so, let me know and I’ll get you a beer

[:drink:]