Mallossi 177 kits on PX Discs

ok, im a young-un to the scene and am looking to do my first modifications i have ever done to an engine so’s as you can understand, im a wee bit nervous.

just wondering how easy th kit is to fit, how long it will take and considering that im not a spanner-monkey, will it be easy to fit?

im looking over at curare and hoping he’s got piccys hiding somewhere that’ll show me how…

any help and advice would be very much appreciated.

cheers ladies and gentlemen

i mean mallosi 166 kits by the way.

thanks curare, i appreciate it very much.

im probably going to get a new exhaust too but as i use my vespa daily as my work horse, it sits in the rain also so im going for a stainless exhaust. i was looking at the scootRS and JL stainless steels, any preference or difficulties in fitting etc?

thanks again.

Xeres

oh, and plesse remember that i am a complete novice so you willl need to go into detail with technical aspects. i really want to learn and experience it all so i as unintelligible as i may seem, i am researching up and working things out as i get informed

xeres

Scuse my ignorance… (as usual) , but what’s the squish band ?

Check the squish band with the solder cable through the plug hole. You should have at least 1,2mm. If you don’t have this space you have to put a gasket under the head

oh and i hope your coming along nicely following your crash.

all the best,
xeres

Hi again,
The squish band is the area inside the cylinder head. It can be vital to modify this when tuning an engine. Some kits, especially the aluminium kits, tend to run more reliable with a slightly lower compression. You can remove a small amount of metal from the inside of the head to give a more ‚centralized‘ plug. Also, you may need to open the head slightly to accomodate a bigger piston.